Texans have done amazing work–but more remains

texas-still-needsYou, the community of supporters of health care for every Texan, have done amazing work for 1.5 million uninsured Texans. You called and emailed, rallied and wrote letters. Your efforts led to a solid majority of House lawmakers registering support for the health care solution bill this week.

Unfortunately, though, one of our best opportunities to get this done was taken away. HB 3791, the bill by Rep. John Zerwas that would expand health care coverage to low-income Texans, will not make it to the House floor for a vote. 

There are a lot of ways for a bill to die, but this one met a particularly unsatisfying end without an up-or-down vote when a group of powerful leaders stepped in to make sure the bill never appeared before the House chamber.

We will continue to work on a way to get these Texans covered and will report back to you soon. In the meantime, to voice your discontent to those few who killed this bill, contact the governor and the Speaker of the House, and members of the Texas Calendars Committee.

Say: Texas still needs a health care solution so over 1 million fellow Texans can have coverage!

Governor Perry: (888) 503-1874

Speaker Straus: (512) 463-1000

Calendars Committee Contact information:

Chair: Rep. Todd Hunter
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0672
District Phone: (361) 949-4603
Email Address: todd.hunter@house.state.tx.us

Vice Chair: Rep. Eddie Lucio III
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0606
District Phone: (956) 365-4458
Email Address: eddie.lucio_iii@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Roberto R. Alonzo
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0408
District Phone: (214) 942-7104
Email Address: roberto.alonzo@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Carol Alvarado
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0732
District Phone:(713) 649-6563
Email Address: carol.alvarado@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Dan Branch
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0367
District Phone: (214) 745-5768
Email Address: dan.branch@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Angie Chen Button
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0486
District Phone: (972) 234-8980
Email Address: angie.button@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Byron Cook
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0730
District Phone: (512) 463-0730
Email Address: byron.cook@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Myra Crownover
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0582
District Phone: (940) 321-0013
Email Address: myra.crownover@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Sarah Davis
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0389
District Phone: (713) 521-4474
Email Address: sarah.davis@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Craig Eiland
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0502
District Phone: (800) 345-2630
Email Address: craig.eiland@house.state.tx.us

Rep. John Frullo
Capitol Phone: (512) 463- 0676
District Phone: (806) 763-2366
Email Address:john.frullo@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Charlie Geren
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0610
District Phone: (817) 738-8333
Email Address: charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Helen Giddings
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0953
District Phone: (972) 224-6795
Email Address: helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us

Rep. John Kuempel
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0602
District Phone: (830) 379-8732
Email Address:john.kuempel@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Doug Miller
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0325
District Phone: (830) 625-1313
Email Address: doug.miller@house.state.tx.us

Written by: Mimi Garcia, Engage Texas

Posted in The Texas Treatment|Tagged , , , |

Leave a Reply

To reduce spam, please complete the equation. *